Ventrian Product Forums

We've moved our Product Forums!
To better assist our customers, we've moved to an integrated knowledge base and ticketing system. You can access the new forums at http://support.ventrian.com.
Subject: RadEditor Popping Out of Module Div in Internet Explorer
Prev Next
You are not authorized to post a reply.

Author Messages
JosephUser is Offline
Gold Membership
Ventrian Wiz
Ventrian Wiz
Posts:153

2/05/2012 8:20 PM  

When I use the RadEditor to create or edit and it pops out of the Div holding the module instead of being resized by width to fit into a narrower div.

 

I have the NA module in a 600 px wide div on the left and a smaller sidebar on the right.

 

This anomaly only happens in IE and only with the RadEditor and not the Basic Text Editor.

 

Any ideas on how to address this?

Scott McCullochUser is Offline
Administrators
Ventrian Master
Ventrian Master
Posts:21233


2/06/2012 4:34 AM  
Are you using DNN6? I seem to remember their being a class for dnnform that had a min-width of 620px

Scott McCulloch
Site Administrator
JosephUser is Offline
Gold Membership
Ventrian Wiz
Ventrian Wiz
Posts:153

2/06/2012 4:49 AM  
Yep... DNN 6.1

IS there any way to work around the 620px limit?
CzivUser is Offline
Registered Users
Ventrian Wiz
Ventrian Wiz
Posts:187


2/06/2012 8:05 AM  

Joseph,

 

Is that the same problem ?

 

http://www.dotnetnuke.com/Resources/Forums/forumid/109/threadid/445832/scope/posts.aspx

 

 


Venice Travel Guide
JosephUser is Offline
Gold Membership
Ventrian Wiz
Ventrian Wiz
Posts:153

2/06/2012 1:10 PM  
Yeah, mate. Its the same problem. I think you have articulated the issue very well.

It sounds like we are of like mind. The issue isn't as much a functional problem, rather, it is confusing to site editors.
Scott McCullochUser is Offline
Administrators
Ventrian Master
Ventrian Master
Posts:21233


2/07/2012 6:13 AM  
Setting the width in admin settings won't do anything because the CSS is overriding it.

You can override the css however, if you send me a link, I'll tell you what you can change, but basically it is reducing the min-width for dnnform in the news articles module.

Scott McCulloch
Site Administrator
CzivUser is Offline
Registered Users
Ventrian Wiz
Ventrian Wiz
Posts:187


2/07/2012 6:17 AM  
The is a 620px in DEFAULT.CSS of DNN (portals/default).

I will experiment with that a bit ...



Venice Travel Guide
Scott McCullochUser is Offline
Administrators
Ventrian Master
Ventrian Master
Posts:21233


2/07/2012 6:21 AM  
Okay, try this..

go into admin options -> main options -> form settings -> reduce text editor width to 450px (from 100%)

Then add this into your skin stylesheet:

#NewsArticles .dnnForm {min-width: 450px;}

You might have to play around with the actual widths.

It's not ideal, but when the core implements min-widths for forms, it makes it hard for developers trying to support multiple versions. Not everyone uses the modal popups from DNN6

Scott McCulloch
Site Administrator
JosephUser is Offline
Gold Membership
Ventrian Wiz
Ventrian Wiz
Posts:153

2/07/2012 12:26 PM  

The admin and css changes don't seem to work in IE. For whatever reason IE won't honor them.

Here is an attached screen shot. If you look at the bottom right, you'll see the css set to 550px which should easily accommodate the form, but it's popping out of the div to 650px.

 






Scott McCullochUser is Offline
Administrators
Ventrian Master
Ventrian Master
Posts:21233


2/07/2012 1:16 PM  
Did you also change the setting in admin options -> main options -> form settings -> text editor width?

Scott McCulloch
Site Administrator
JosephUser is Offline
Gold Membership
Ventrian Wiz
Ventrian Wiz
Posts:153

2/08/2012 11:48 AM  

Scott,

Yes, I did change the Form width in admin options -> main options -> form settings -> text editor width.

I also changed the skin.css. So both the form width and the css had the sme values at the same time.

The changes did not affect the display of the form in IE 9. The RadEditor form still pops out of its div.

Joseph

Scott McCullochUser is Offline
Administrators
Ventrian Master
Ventrian Master
Posts:21233


2/09/2012 4:03 AM  
Okay - I'll see if I can work out a fix for it.


Scott McCulloch
Site Administrator
mhilesUser is Offline
Registered Users
Ventrian Newbie
Ventrian Newbie
Posts:6

2/28/2012 6:45 PM  
Glad to know I am not going crazy here. I've been scratching my head trying to figure out why this control is breaking. Looking forward to a workaround.
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Forums > Modules > News Articles > RadEditor Popping Out of Module Div in Internet Explorer



ActiveForums 3.7
We've moved our Product Forums!
To better assist our customers, we've moved to an integrated knowledge base and ticketing system. You can access the new forums at http://support.ventrian.com.